Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Pier 27 Condos, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(13 reviews)
Condo address: 29 Queens Quay East, Toronto, ON, M5E 0A4
(3.3 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Amazing Pier 27

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by silken Apr 20, 2018
Great location and amenities....The indoor pools, the outdoor pool, the party room... and the neighbours... a 10!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Several observations...

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alan Dec 28, 2017
Like many has mentioned, the building has some great unique features (10' ceilings, built-in appliances, attractive finishes, beautiful amenities, most units come with parking, etc.). Construction quality is decent and not out of line compared other condos built around that same time. I found the re-sale prices here of great value compared to other newly built condos in the area, which is surprising as you can't get any closer to the water and the building has a unique design. But there is good reason for this which may or may not be a reason for not living/buying here:

1. Lack of views: unless you have a very expensive unit with a direct south view (or the equally pricey west facing units on the very western building), there are no views or privacy elsewhere. The four buildings face each in a row which creates a tunnel-like effect between them and in some areas the penthouse bridges makes it more dark and enclosed when you are under it (though it looks cool from a far), and the noise bouncing between the buildings. There will be a few more, and much taller towers being built between these buildings and Queens Quay, and there is also two enormous planned developments (1 Yonge and the LCBO lands) across the street so views of the north will be gone which is why there are a lot of units for sale that has that north view. It's unfortunate that agents advertising the downtown views of these resales are either not disclosing the surrounding planned massive developments or simply don't know a thing. The residential and office towers that will be built, was part of the developer's approved master plan for the entire site since the beginning so it wasn't a surprise to many.

2. Nearby construction: as mentioned above, these new developments surrounding this building will create lots of construction noise, traffic disruptions and dust/dirt for the next 10 years, not to mention more waterfront development to the east will continue on for the next 25 years. But once this is all done, this building will become prime property in the east end.

3. Amenities: There is a lot of beautiful amenities in this building, but the high maintenance fees do reflect this and the units are larger than average so you are hit with a high maintenance fee based on a larger-sized square footage. Because there are four buildings the amenities are shared, meaning you may have to walk to another building to use a particular amenity.

4. Redpath Sugar refinery next door intends to stay for a very long time as they has continuingly invested a lot of money into their facility. Some have complained about the smells and noise, but I personally don't think is such an issue and some days it's not noticeable. I think it's a cool neighbourhood feature to see barges being loaded with sugar while lounging on Sugar Beach to the east. Because Redpath is an industrial property, the easternmost building has a big wall with no units facing east to separate it from Redpath for safety issues. This wall also continues beyond to the building out to the water which creates an awkward dead end space for the waterfront walkway and doesn't look very pleasant or inviting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

enjoy living here

 
(3.6 out of 5 stars)
by Hiram D. Dec 02, 2017
Very nice condo complex, I enjoy living here and lake view from my balcony. The condo unit is not huge but I guess it is the same for all downtown condominiums. Not so many good grocery opportunities - just a Loblaws nearby together with a few small stores. If you want good restaurants, you need to walk around 15 minutes into the downtown core.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

10 minutes away from the Financial District

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by Leanna S. Nov 18, 2017
If you are looking for a condominium that combines both proximity to the downtown core and a fantastic lake view, this one is probably the best one. I love the lake view and perspective on the Toronto Island. It takes me though ten minutes to walk to the Financial District where I work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

A mix of nice and ugly views

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by Iona R. Nov 06, 2017
A nice, big condo complex with a beautiful lake view and extensive park-like area with a plenty of space for a dog or simply hanging out at the lake shore. Some people have townhouses as opposed to my condo unit. The neighbourhood is mixed - it is close to the downtown core but there are some more ugly views such as a large parking, LCBO store, Redpath sugar refinery - I hope a lot of that will be changed in future.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

amazing building design

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tod L. Oct 28, 2017
This condo complex is located in the very nice location at Queens Quay East and Yonge street, right on the waterfront. Architecturally outside the design and the space is pretty nice. The condo is situated in the nice area. The lobby is a bit simplistic. The common space is not huge. The units are not huge - the floor plans could be better. The biggest plus of the condo is it is location - the complex has a lot of space, close to the downtown core.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Chances on Design...

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brook Wilson Oct 09, 2017
I love this project. We need more developers who are willing to take chances on design. Those bridges are tons of fun.

If you're buying, keep in mind that there will be a lot more density on the site when it's all said and done. The later phases of this development are expected to include a 30+ storey tower at the south east corner of Yonge & Queens Quay East.

Developer can also be a bit unresponsive to purchasers and hasn't been the best at keeping them to up to date on all the delays associated with this project.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Delays

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Matt Fernandes Aug 16, 2017
Horrible company to deal with trust me. As a "supposed" owner I'm sitting here 6 yrs later still waiting for this thing to be built (3yrs behind schedule). Cityzen/Fernbrook are the shadiest people I've dealt with who have done nothing but delay this project over and over again with no explanation. Advise you stay away from any of their projects. All signs point to the fact that they're most likely in financial trouble.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

High prices

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michel Proulx May 17, 2017
It is nice to see a condo development that's not a tower, and that design-wise is different from the usual. Great location for residents/investors of this building, however that being said, I'm saddened to see a condo going up on the south side of queens quay - the waterfront has so much potential, if the city actually put effort into making the waterfront into something grand. Another negative for me is the prices in this development aren't affordable, also another concern I would have, I'd never would want to live next door to the Redpath sugar factory.... can often stink!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Numerous issues

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Mar 22, 2017
Having lived here for over two years now I feel like I have some insight for future owners/tenants. It looks nice, the second you walk into a unit you will think it's beautiful and high quality. 2 months later things start going wrong, door handles start falling off, patches of areas don't have paint (it's done so you don't notice initially), HVAC works intermittently, elevators are down every day, granite counters start chipping/showing wear, we had severe condensation during winter (not the only ones), appliances were not installed properly causing early issues etc etc. Building response to issues is snail pace as well. Now they are building a tower in front of 29. It will be another 5 years of construction when people thought there would finally be some peace and quiet.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

incredibly cool building

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by John O'Reilly Feb 27, 2017
Pier 27 is an incredibly cool building that creates a new icon for Toronto's rapidly improving waterfront. A walkable distance from two great new urban parks: Sugar Beach and Sherbourne Commons, the building's high-quality and completely original design embodies Toronto's aspirations for a revitalized and world-class waterfront district. This is a building that is going to have unparalleled views of Lake Ontario through all seasons, and which itself is going to become a landmark along the shoreline for boaters and residents of Toronto Island. Every time I see the renderings for the project, or pass the skeletal silhouette of the iconic "bridge" between the two main buildings, which as of this writing is under construction, I feel a little of the same thrill I felt when the design was first unveiled. Along with other supporters of great architecture in the City of Toronto, I am eagerly awaiting its completion.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Family members

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brandon Donnelly Jan 25, 2017
A family member of mine bought a unit in this building back in 2007. Needless to say, there have been countless delays with this project. Occupancy is slated for the end of this year/beginning of next. Still, it's an incredibly exciting project for Toronto's waterfront - easily one of my favourites going up in the city right now. The two "bridges" are going to make them landmarks along the waterfront and can you imagine the views from those penthouse units? Also, if you look closely, you'll notice that they switched up the cladding on the two eastern buildings (closest to Redpath Sugar). They're using curtain wall. This is typically more expensive than "window wall", which is what most condos use. It looks really high quality. Inside the units they have a couple of great standard features, including 10' ceilings, heated floors in master ensuites and concealed appliances in the kitchen (they're hidden behind cupboards). Extending those kitchen cupboards up to the ceiling will cost you extra though! All in all, a really exciting project. I wonder if we'll see a bunch of Raptors players living in the penthouse suites of this complex. That used to be the case at 211 Queens Quay (the Terminal), but now that there's a new kid on the block...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor people

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Christine Christine.Maler Jan 01, 2017
It's horrible, the waiting. And now I hear they are planning to put a 30 fl tower right in front of the city view, SW corner. Poor people across at 10 Queens Quay!!! And then a new project right across next to the Star building; absolutely huge. And people paid a lot of money on that side too (like me) Sick
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?