Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Emerald City Condos , Toronto Condo Reviews 

(10 reviews)
Condo address: 66-70 Forest Manor Rd, North York, ON, M2J 1G2
(2.6 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT ALERT

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by EMERALD-NIGHTMARE Nov 26, 2018
The management office was bullying us when we moved into 70 Forest Manor. This is the most HORRIBLE experience I have during my life in Toronto. They charged us since the store delivery entered the lobby while the fact was the moving elevator was out of service so the delivery had to use other elevators through lobby!!! And they charged us the transaction fee when they refunded the deposit!!! Who charges transaction fee for the deposit in the world?! In Emerald City, you will see the most terrible management happen!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Emerald Garbage City

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by emeraldy Sep 06, 2018
I have been living in phase 2 building since it's construction has finished (4 years and counting) and I have seen it all. The building quality is probably lowest among the already crappy Toronto condos! Windows are horrible, at least in higher floors, as they make loud cracking noises when it's a bit windy outside. It always wakes me up when it's windy outside. The pool had a major leak 6 month into occupancy so they had to re-do the sealing so it was shut down for half a year. Shows the build quality. The garages had a leak also 3 years in so they began to re-seal that as well. The door locks started to malfunction one year in so they had to replace them all. Next the main lobby door had to be replaced as it could not withstand the wind because they have designed the center court between all the buildings like a wind tunnel !! which by the way becomes a nightmare in winter. Then the lobby tiles began to crack so they had to replace all the tiles. Now let's move to amenities. Showers in the change room have been broken for 2 years and last time I checked no one has fixed them. The Jacuzzi or public spa is closed 60% of the time and they say it is because residents go into without taking shower so they have to refill the water and the super is a slow guy so that process is gonna take 3-4 days at least. Overall the neighbors are not the best. We have had 3-4 balcony fires because residents throw their cigarette butts down! We constantly get notices from building manager telling people to not throw their garbage from balcony! Who does that??? People also leave their garbage in the garbage room when they can't fit it into the chute. The elevators are very annoying as they take forever to open up when they reach each floor (adjustment issue that no one cares to fix). Also if one elevator goes down the rest will move up and down together and create a very long wait time. Overall its a pretty bad building but it over a subway station that why it has a ridiculously high price. Note: the positive 5 star reviews you see here are probably done by greedy agents who are renting out a tiny one bedroom unit for $2200!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Love the giant balcony!

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by Luis G. Dec 19, 2017
Great unit with beautiful views. I wish that bedrooms were a bit bigger. I love the large balcony spanning across multiple rooms. A lot of light. If you want to have your discretion though, you'd need to use blinds in the evening as other towers are very close and people can look into your unit. Overall a very good place to live though.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Lowest quality

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Dec 18, 2017
Emerald City was built with the lowest quality standard in mind. The garbage shute is down at least 75% of the time... my dryer is the loudest dryer I've ever heard in my life... the building amenities are constantly under construction, and everyone here is clueless about it... they took at least 10 visits to fix a simple shower leak... and many of the things in the unit (eg outlets) still don't work. There's a class action lawsuit against the building which goes to show the quality of the place.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Solid unit

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dane W. Dec 07, 2017
One plus den unit, south-west exposure - it offers a great size bedroom, living room and a decent den. Open kitchen concept. Very convenient location, close to TTC.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good condo to rent

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by Darrin N. Oct 29, 2017
Just a few steps away from TTC. The unit I rent is very nice from the size and planning though nothing special from the finishes and details. Basically, it is what you would expect from a relatively new condo unit.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awesome location

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by Leigha G. Oct 14, 2017
Awesome location from the transportation perspective -directly on TTC. A subway entrance is directly outside, just a few meters away plus a Fairview Mall in front of the building. It is a great location at the corner of Sheppard and Don Mills. Units have good sizes and decent floor plans. Corner units offer great views.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

lowest quality standards

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous May 11, 2017
Emerald City was built with the lowest quality standards in mind. The garbage chute is down at least 75% of the time... my dryer is the loudest dryer I've ever heard in my life... the building amenities are constantly under construction, and everyone here is clueless about it... they took at least 10 visits to fix a simple shower leak... and many of the things in the unit (eg outlets) still don't work. There was a class action lawsuit against the building which goes to show the quality of the place.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Low quality

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 11, 2017
Have lived in this building for over 6 months and continue to be astonished with the extremely low quality job done in both the construction process as well as ongoing customer service. To call this building a piece of shit doesn't even do it justice, as the staff have more attitude towards the tenants than I have seen in any condo or apartment building whether it has been in Canada or Internationally. The number of problems with the building are countless from regular power outages to garbage disposal issues and over 30 minute waits for the elevator (generally 1 of 4 elevators work at a time for the 36 floors of tenants). Then we go to the in-suite issues, such as non-functioning air conditioning, and the cheapest dishwashers / laundry machines that they could have possibly bought (both pieces of equipment are extremely ineffective and inefficient. All of the work has been done with the minimum amount and most inexpensive supplies possible, and the building basically started falling apart before they were finished construction with more that 3 floods requiring them to redo significant portions of the building numerous times. Aside from the public class action lawsuit on the builders for screwing over so many people, they continue to act like assholes treating the tenants like dirt while they count their money from the sale of thousands of units. The builders act in a despicable and disgusting manner, and the building management staff only reinforce the idea that the tenants should be treated like crap.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

poorly managed and planned building

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 09, 2017
We have lived here a few months, besides the highly publicized lawsuit against the builders regarding access the subway, it's also a very poorly managed and planned building. There are power outages frequently, which are followed by all the appliances in the unit going haywire. This makes me suspect, along with appliances that are having trouble across many suites, that it isn't a simple power outage. There are four elevators to service 36 floors - hardly enough during rush times but to make matters worse, there is usually one or two out of service each week. The neighbours are a disappointment, I have stepped into an elevator in the morning and found poo. And last, of all, the fire alarm goes off at all times, sometimes very late into the night, prompting a jarring announcement over the PA to reassure everyone that fire serves will be there (usually followed by another announcement that fire services have given the all clear signal.) It's just too much sometimes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?