Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Peter Street Condos, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(32 reviews)
Condo address: 101 Peter Street, Toronto, ON, M5V 0G6
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Peter Hotel?

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeannette G Jun 16, 2021
The building is well located and slick looking. Nonetheless, when you weigh all the negatives I would strongly recommend finding another place to live. The place is filled with Airbnbs, there was an Airbnb next to my house and in the summer it was mostly booked, one day a guest leaves, and that same day another one arrives. Don't get me wrong I mostly didn't care about the guest that was just visiting or staying, but since the place is in the middle of the entertainment district a lot of people used the apartment next door and other units on my floor as party rooms. They would fit 10 people in a small bedroom apartment and you could see them in the hallway parties laughing and drinking. It was very annoying. If you value a good night's sleep avoid this place.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

You don't want to live there

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Finally Moving! Jun 11, 2021
These are the reasons why this building should be avoided, coming from a tenant that is happy to be moving somewhere else. 1. The building does look good and the units, but the materials are terrible qualities from toilet, doors, wall, and windows they keep breaking all the time. 2. Airbnb, you have plenty of party and sketchy people coming in and out all the time, one time the police break into the apartment next to me where the was an Airbnb, for the amount of police that was involved it looked like drug dealing or something like that. 3. Cockroaches in the trash shoot, every time I was going to shoot there was a cockroach 4. Only 3 elevators. This one time all three were broken, management is very bad, first, one elevator broke they never fix it, then the two others broke it was a mess. If you live on the 30 floors it is not a piece of cake to take the stairs. I felt like a prisoner in my own room. 5. Common areas? The gym was empty and always full, no lobby only a narrow hallway, and got even narrower when they installed some lockboxes. 6. They charge for everything, want to book the elevator? want to book a common area? you gotta pay two fees one refundable and one non-refundable.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't do it

 
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
by Sunshine1996 Apr 22, 2021
Well, I have finally moved out of this shithole. I was one of the first tenants in this building when it opened just over 6 years ago. I know this place inside and out and shit I've seen over the last 6 years... The only reason I gave it 1 1/2 stars is because my landlord was great. I'm not sure where to start but here we go 1) Management - Absolutely horrible and useless management (in 6 years, they've changed management 3 times and it just doesn't get better. The current management harassed me over a parking spot that wasn't even mine, regardless of how many times I told them that) 2) Concierge - apart from Ed (big, white guy working days), everyone else is utterly useless. They struggle to keep full-time staff so you get temp randos who are glued to their phones and don't even acknowledge you when you come in. I've seen staff passed out at the desk. 3) No visitors parking, nowhere to unload your car from shopping, etc. 4) Non-refundable fees for the elevator, party room, etc 5) My makeshift bedroom gym is better equipped than the condo one. Also, rando "personal trainers" from the building use the gym to train their EXTERNAL clients, taking little equipment that is there. 6) Airbnb, should I really say more? Sketchy people galore who don't care about respecting the property, physical distancing, masks, etc 7) ELEVATORS - every time it rains, the elevators don't work. Let that sink in (no pun intended). On one occasion, the elevators didn't work for almost 3 days. THREE DAYS. Forget about having to go up and down the most narrow staircase (two people cannot walk past each other), imagine if there was a medical emergency? 8) Condo board is made up of random people who don't live on the property and who get to decide how you live. Pros: 1) Location.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid!!! Safety Issue

 
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
by Luigi Apr 20, 2021
The condo is full of Airbnb's, even during the lockdown and the stay-at-home orders I am seeing people coming from abroad and staying longer than the 2 weeks mandatory stay. There are a lot of sketchy-looking people staying for the weekend to do parties, they come without masks, yelling loud and party all night. One time the police came and knock off the door of an Airbnb next to my unit one can only wonder what sort of illegal activities they were doing in the building. The police stayed hidden for over 14 hours waiting for the person to return he never did, it was a very unpleasant situation as it is living in a building where you see a lot of people on hard drugs going to parties in the elevator! There is a constant line in the elevators, security is NOT nice, the trash room is always dirty and I have seen cockroaches a couple of times, I complained and they said they were going to fumigate the trash shoot but I am not 100% if they actually did it. And for some reason, the building is not even cheap!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

You can probably do better

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ThomasRunsworth Feb 25, 2021
Pros - Nice location - Friendly concierge and cleaning personnel Cons - Poor management - Terrible gym - Constant construction noises and loud vehicles - Fees for using the elevators - Large lineups to use the elevators - Noisy, rowdy neighbors - They don't accept packages over a certain size
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT RENT OR BUY HERE

 
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
by MY Nov 12, 2020
I rented a unit here for four years and it was pretty good for the first year or two. The aesthetics of my unit are gorgeous with floor-to-ceiling glass windows, a huge balcony, open concept, and hidden appliances in the kitchen, which is what drew me to rent this unit. The location is also prime being steps away from an overpriced CityMarket, Shoppers, King and Spadina streetcars, and great dining, shopping, and entertainment. HOWEVER your day-to-day experience will be terrible. At least one elevator is broken all the time, the middle elevator gets stuck on a daily basis (terrifying), there are lots of AirBnB rowdy parties, the front desk people are friendly but generally loose about security and tenant concerns, there is no visitor parking, you have to pay for everything like booking the elevator or party room, and generally the quality is shabby. We had issues with the washing machine and fridge within 2 years, and noticed that window frames and finishings started to fall apart over time. You're much better off renting in a neighbouring property like 125 Peter St. for the same price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid next 3-4 years

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Emma Sep 07, 2020
1) Condos are being built here and there (at least 3 around this building). If you work from home or oversleep on weekends, then avoid living in this building at least the next 3-4 years. 2) The worst water pressure in the shower. You can‘t change/or make it better unless you take out the tiles in the bathroom. 3) The bathroom sink is too shallow so it’s impossible to keep it clean. 4) You'll find too much draft in winter. It’s very cheap floor to ceiling windows. 5) The lobby is small and cramped. When you line up for the elevator, it’s impossible to keep a social distance. 6) You get to charge about $45 for using the elevator for moving. Not a deposit. 7) The building security is a total joke. There are multiple incidents happened. Security guards are nice and friendly but that’s it. 8) The building management is the worst. Flooding happens so many times (I had to take shower with cold water so many times) elevator breaks down a lot. (sometimes all 3 elevators)...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Prime Location

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by Tenant Jul 30, 2020
I've owned my condo for almost 6 months now and all I can say is that this location is PRIME! It's steps away from the grocery store, minutes away from Chinatown, and many transit options. As for the elevator issues, a lot of people are complaining about, to be honest, it's on par with every Toronto condo. I've lived in a condo by Yonge and Bloor and their elevators are worse. I have no issues with noise or garbage on my level, maybe perhaps my level has more long term rented units than Airbnb ones. I'm really happy with this condo and you really can't go wrong with the location and attractions near it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Brace yourselves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by peaceoutpeterst Jun 24, 2020
Why would anyone want to rent here longterm is beyond me. I'd lived here for 2 1/2 years. During my time as a tenant, I've encountered numerous issues. On an ongoing basis: 1) elevators being broke. i.e. waiting up to 5-10 minutes per elevator, especially during rush hours; 2) fire alarms blaring in the middle of the night, during the day, whenever; 3) loud neighbors due to this building being primarily short-term rentals/Airbnb; 4) garbage chute malfunction and people nonetheless leaving their trash in the garbage room; 5) shallow bathroom sink, so it gets messy quickly 6) poor structural engineering. The cracks in my ceiling are getting wider and deeper. It's an all dry wall. 7) cheap fridge that leaks. and be careful with closing; it slams easily and stays shut, making it impossible to reopen; 8) good luck baking. The oven doesn't have accurate temperatures. It is a dial where you have to guess the estimated temperature. 9) when it rains, silt from the balcony above falls onto yours; 10) in general, the units are tiny. Beware. The only plus is that it's in a convenient location and the front desk people are friendly enough.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

AVOID

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by elee Feb 05, 2020
I am currently a tenant at 101 Peter Street and I have been living there for 6 months now. Before moving in there was mention from other tenants about how the elevators are always down or very slow, but I did not think it would be too bad. Now having lived here, just in the past 2 weeks I have gotten stuck in the elevator three times, twice for 5-10 minutes in the middle elevator, and this morning for 20 minutes in the left elevator. The locking mechanisms on the elevators do not always work, so you can get in but they do not always let you out. Management has been aware of this issue for over a month now and we have been told that people have been coming in to repair the elevators also for months, but they are still not fixed. The first time I got stuck in the elevator, I told the front desk person and they were not even phased by it because it is such a common occurrence. This is DANGEROUS and it is concerning that this is still an ongoing issue. An elderly woman told me she was stuck in the elevator for an hour and had a panic attack. This is not safe. Management needs to do something about this, especially because the stairs are not available to walk up to our apartments, only down, and with 30+ floors it is not realistic for some people to walk up that many flights regardless. I am hoping that this post will get management's attention since my emails and phone calls have not. Stay away from this building if you do not want to spend your time stuck in their elevators.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Prime Location

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by Tenant Feb 05, 2020
Honestly, you can't go wrong with the location here. It steps away from the grocery store, entertainment, and 10 min walk to the subway. I moved here recently and I did not have any issues with loud noise from party goers. The layout is very practical and insulation is good in the building. I do not need to turn on my heat for the wintertime and its always around 21-22 degrees regardless (save hydro there). So far so good!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Found new instead

 
(2.3 out of 5 stars)
by Brad Jul 16, 2019
Had a friend who lived in the building and the endless party-goers on weekends, checking in and out of Airbnb's made it a pretty unbearable environment. I helped them find a new condo.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous10 Jan 30, 2019
The building was built with cheap materials and that has lead to numerous issues. Right from nonheating for two weeks in November (in Toronto!), to one elevator almost always out of order out of the three elevators of the building. There have been multiple occasions when all three elevators have been out of order. The line for the elevator wait generally extends till the main door and beyond. The building management are polite and try their best to fix things but with the quality of materials being so bad, the issues are never fixed permanently. This building is a good for a starter place, if you are new to Toronto and want to know the city better, this is right in the centre of everything and the rents are affordable because of all the above mentioned issues. But other than that, stay away from this one.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Stay away from this building

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by peterstreetabc Jan 22, 2019
Apart from the location, the building is crap. All 3 elevators never work. One of them has been out of service since 2 months. Its usually 2 or 1 in service. Today there are no elevators working at all due to a flooding in the building. Something has to go wrong with building all the time. I feel the building is poorly constructed with cheap equipments. Elevators out of service all the time, appliances break, flooding in the building (11th floor is a disaster after the flooding), Fire alarms at midnight to scare people while sleeping, no visitor parking, no hot water, long wait times for elevators, people getting struck in elevators and the list goes on. What surprises me if there is an issue - I feel they go for a short fix and the issue surfaces again. Recommend to stay away from renting or buying if you want to save yourself the trouble.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst building in Toronto

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ms.to.renter Jan 22, 2019
Pretty much ticks all the boxes for what you DON'T want in a home. Floorplans are tiny, walls are thin, no guest parking, location is extremely loud, ridden with AirBNB short-term renters, and pipes are constantly bursting in the building. The majority of your days will be spent taking the stairs as the building is usually down to one elevator. It's worse in the winter months when there's a queue for the elevator extending out the front door.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Recommended

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by Maxwell Jan 22, 2019
Convenient location with Starbucks and grocery store at the doorstep and other shopping, restaurants and public transportation in walking distance. Building is kept clean with spacious well layed out units compared to others I've seen. Amenities fit with my lifestyle and include a fitness studio, theater, billiards and most importantly a 24-hr concierge. As with any condo building, repairs or service has been ocassionally required. The key for me is that they have been addressed and resolved fairly quickly by property management.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

S*** hole

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by XXXX Dec 07, 2018
This condo is the worst place one can imaging. Always there is only one or no elevator working. In the morning you have to spend 15 min for the elevator, how comfortable? There is issue with heating in winter and cooling in summer. In winter every other day there is no hot water. Management sucks. Parking is crappy, ppl park in the back alley you can't get in, especially in summer when clubs are running after 11 you are screwed. Locker got stolen management did not take any responsibility. Every year pipes burst. It's a mess here, it's a wrecking ship man. They know ppl would rent and demand is high that is why they do not care.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

can’t get any worse

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hia Dec 07, 2018
They have a three elevators and you almost never get the three working at the same time. Sometimes you have none working!! Constantly losing heating and hot water in January and February. They have a major issue with their boiler system. They also shut the AC early in September/ October while it can be 25 degree outside. Limited amenities for the price! The appliances are cheap and parts are not readily available and costly. Lightbulbs are not regular, expensive and not available.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good layout, all else is crap.

 
(1.3 out of 5 stars)
by A resident Sep 01, 2018
Where do I start. The sinks are shallow and water splashes everywhere. The appliances are complete junk and broke. The construction is is incredibly cheap and poor, especially in the kitchen. The water is never hot, the water pressure is even worse. The management is bad, what do they do all day? They can’t even bother to memorize the residents and buzz them in. The elevators are always broke. The gym is meh for a building this size. A few weights and cheap threadmills that always break. No visitor parking. Tons of airbnb in the lobby however our floor is pretty quiet and we’ve had no noise issues thus far. The one positive is the unit size we’ve got, it is great and the layout works perfectly for us.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Looking forward to moving out

 
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
by Not impressed Jun 08, 2018
101 Peter Street is full of rentals and Airbnb units. There are a lot of noisy people visiting the building at all hours of the night. There is no sense of community here. The walls are thin in some parts of the condos, there for heating noisy neighbors and even light switches being turned on and off and doors closing. Very poor construction! All three elevators are never all functioning. Stay away from renting or buying here.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good building and management

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by srbt May 31, 2018
Renting here - it is a great building to live in. Location is walking distance to TTC, right near lots of activities. It is also right on top of a supermarket which is rare in downtown Toronto. Units have better furnishings than most others I've seen, better quality and useful details, like outlets in the islands, which make it great for cooks like me! The building has a good gym with lots of equipment. Only downvoted as it doesn't have a pool. Not a lot of noise for the location too.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great units and location

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by tttt May 31, 2018
Great building with responsive management. The location is very good as well. Units have larger layouts than newer buildings in the area, and better quality appliances. Doors are very thick so no noise can be heard from the hallways. Only downside about unit are structural columns, which make it difficult to furnish, but otherwise add personality and style. Units let in lots of light, especially corner ones, and have unobstructed views.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great building, minor issues

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by Happy owner May 31, 2018
Don't pay too much attention to the negative reviews in here; most people are more motivated to review after a negative experience than after a positive experience. Pros: EXCELLENT location, Starbucks at main floor, grocery shop less than 20ft away, great bunch of people, amenities are well maintained, good unit layouts, etc. Cons: As with virtually all other new buildings in DT Toronto, there are a few issues like elevator downtime, but if anything this building is better than average. Airbnb guests are generally better than the average condo dweller to be honest, and generally speaking, they tend to be quieter than a young/rowdy neighbor. Highly recommend!
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

decent building

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by eh May 24, 2018
Good: Proximity to work/restaurants/cafe/shopping. New condo manager and board responses to issues quickly. Bad: Smaller lobby area. Can be noisy on weekend nights due to pub/club nearby Original owner/resident purchased from developer. Overall, I'm happy with my unit so far. On elevator comments: there was period of time (~2017) where the elevator service company was really bad (unresponsive to service call), but it had been improved drastically since the service company fired the previous area manager around mid 2017.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ongoing pre drink !

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Mar 16, 2018
I would give this building less then a start if it was possible!! Elevators dont work ! This is one of only buildings downtown that allows Airbnb so its a contestant party feels like living in a hotel or an ongoing pre drink ! Management is pathetic, about 70-80 percent of the building is renters so there are no owners present at any meetings and therefor no complaints are made so nothing changes. Management says its normal for elevators to be constantly broken, insulting our intelligence as if none of have lived in other buildings and should believe this is normal. People are constantly loud and partying, full of hookers, and shady characters on weekends. Drive way in back is super narrow and people always block it. Not your king west type people living here, most tenants are very vanilla, you wouldnt think this is a fashion district condo. Stay away at any price !
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great location, good layouts

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by vainat Feb 05, 2018
Unlike other buildings nearby, this building has great layouts, with lots of space. All three units I have seen let in a lot of light, and there is little lost space. We do not hear a lot of noise, despite a lot of young people living in the building and lots of traffic nearby. The only negative I know of thus far is that the elevators often break, leaving few to service many floors, but I have seen this issue in many condo buildings in Toronto.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

TERRIBLE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 30, 2017
This building is terrible.

The elevators are constantly out of service.
Concierge isn't 24 hour, so noise complaint's can't be handled.
Units become uncomfortably, hot as they switch the cooling system off too soon in the fall, and then don't reactivate it soon enough. There appear to be issues with the rigging system, so no window cleaning happens (although apparently you're supposed to clean your own if you can access them).
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This building is a disaster!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 27, 2017
This building is a disaster, one elevator is permanently down, and often times two of them are down. This makes the line-ups during rush hour span out the door and often have to wait 10 minutes just to board an elevator. This is due to the fact that the building was flooded shortly after it was build and the condo board refused to allocate proper funds to fix them permanently. The lobby is freezing in the winter and boiling in the summer as there is no air circulation. The security guard is rarely present and when he is, there is no control of who enters and exits the building. This building allows AirBnB rentals and during weekends and holidays, it is often packed with out-of-towners partying and leaving it a mess (breaking and scratching elevators, leaving beer bottles everywhere, peeing in the stairwell, making noise all night long). The amenities are practically non-existent, there is a gym with one machine, which is often broken, the treadmills and elliptical machines are not maintained so they are often out of commission too. The heater/air conditioner in the units do not fully turn on and off and management takes too long to switch from heat to cold, so often makes for a very uncomfortable experience during spring and fall.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This building is a joke

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Aug 19, 2017
This building is a complete joke.

There are 3 elevators to service 40 floors and it is a rare occasion when all 3 elevators are operating. It is perfectly normal that only one elevator works.

The bathrooms in the suites have very shallow sinks so water splashes everywhere. The bathtub drain is constantly being clogged. I had the buildings recommended plumber come and unclog the drain. He was in my suite for 10 minutes and the bill was $260 dollars.

The small condo stacked fridge and freezer has poor circulation causing for the fridge to also partially freeze.

Unfortunately, this building is full of Airbnb rentals. Since some of the walls are very thin and the balconies are attached on each floor.....the noise levels are horrible. This building feels like living in a frat house. Terribly annoying for those of us that live here full time and actually want to enjoy the homes that we pay to live in.

I am incredibly disappointed to be living here. I would never recommend this building to anyone.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Many issues

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Aug 18, 2017
Hot water repeatedly doesn't work.

Elevators keep breaking.

My unit has a terribly shallow sink so the water keeps spraying.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Interested to get a unit in this condo?
Peter Street CondosToronto Condo
32 reviews
5 Darkstar
(6)
4 Darkstar
(2)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Darkstar
(4)
1 Darkstar
(20)
Most helpfull reviews
Got condo?
Don't forget about insurance!
Towers
Find out more about Condo insurance : rates, limits, and more.
Get a quote for Condo Insurance Toronto at InsurEye to see how much you can save today