Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Bridge Condo, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(24 reviews)
Condo address: 38 Joe Shuster Way, Toronto, ON M6K 0A5
(3.8 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Stay AWAY...

 
(2.6 out of 5 stars)
by John W. Feb 13, 2018
I currently rent a unit here. The building is full of students and sometimes very noisy. Decent management but the elevators seem to have many issues. There was a time where one elevator was down for more than two weeks. I really like the location here- its close to many great restaurants, shops, TTC line, GO transit and easy to get to the downtown core. More younger people living here as it is a trendy neighborhood. Lots of dog walkers around and dog friendly park.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great atmosphere...

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 28, 2017
...I own a unit at the Bridge and love the vibe that the building has. If you are an old person this building is not for you. It is full of young professional just like any other in Liberty Village. Great atmosphere and yes people like to party. The new condo board is doing an amazing job in getting the deficiencies fixed and the overall look of the building improved...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I love this place

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Derek Silvers Sep 22, 2017
NOW, I love this place. We are under new management, who are outstanding, new cleaning company.  We now have 24-7 concierge and our maintenance fees didn't even go up? 1 star for that! The place has done a complete 180 and I am beyond happy with my investment now. I don't plan on selling this for years to come.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

A great community vibe

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 04, 2017
I love it here! Great neighbors with a community vibe. I feel right at home. The location is perfect, close to all of the best art galleries, independent retail stores and good eats. Located in the best of both worlds, Liberty Village and Queen St w. The building just closed and like any building, more renters are moving out and owners are moving in and it's really stepped up the building.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Super amazing location

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Aug 29, 2017
I've been living here for a couple years and I am LOVING IT!!! This building is in a super amazing location! It is right across from Liberty Village with many stores including Metro. It is a short walk to Queen West for all the bars and night life. It is a short jog to all the great trails by the lake. Immediate access to King streetcar, Queen streetcar, Dufferin bus. There is no need for a car when you live here! We also have a great steam room and pool where I can enjoy myself. A lot of great people here as well. It's really a great place...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Improved over time...

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Aug 22, 2017
I've been here since the beginning and we have gone through some challenges, but that's to be expected in a new building. Over the last few years the Condo board along with the property management team and the concierge, they managed to work wonders. It's an amazing place to live. Great community to be in. Whether you're single, a young professional or just starting a family. I am truly impressed and proud. Love it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

finishes are below par

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 28, 2017
Would never recommend to clients or friends. Worst developer in the city. Most of his projects take 6-12 months or longer to register, finishes are below par at the very best. Prices are cheap but you pay for what you get, and mostly are Tenants which inn turn devalue the building. That's why there are always at least 20+ units for sale and/or rent in the buildings. Its another version of Cityplace.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The units are great sizes

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 22, 2017
This building had been filled with serious growing pains in the last 2 years.
Urbancorp was a relatively new builder, which led to serious delays and numerous problems.
Many tenanted units, with a lot of students so there were many many problems, this is getting better monthly. I don't understand people who complain about a young party crowd, this is Liberty Village/king/queen west. If you wanted a quiet building, move to the suburbs. So many improvements have been made, and many are in the near future with the recent Turnover of the building, and the election of a solid board of directors that live in the building and are seriously invested in the future of the building.
For those reading this that are concerned about the bed bug drama of 2011- IT NEVER HAPPENED!
The building was never infested, and if you would like to speak to people who live here about it, contact the management office and they can put you in contact with us The whole drama was a hoax caused by an ex-employee. The units are great sizes with great finishes, awesome location, and good amenities.
It's a great investment, and the neighborhood is fantastic.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Building management is on top

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 19, 2017
I am an investor and purchased in this building pre-construction so I have been involved since the beginning. I have had three tenants - all were professionals in their early 30s and not party-goers (so I would refute the claims that all people living here are 20 something party-animals. It is just not true). I have asked all of my tenants on an ongoing basis how they like the building if they have complaints whatsoever etc. and all have been totally satisfied. My current tenant, said the building management is on top of everything and doing a great job. Were there some problems in the very early stages? Sure. But the building, the management and a core group of investors and owners have made it a priority to improve this building and it is working!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great building, amazing views

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 16, 2017
Great building with amazing views, lots of amenities and a perfect location. Close to everything!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This is not a good building

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 13, 2017
...This is not a good building. Sure, the units are priced below market, but you get what you pay for. And here it means subpar finishes, poor workmanship, questionable neighbours and so on.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Amazing VIEWS!

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 02, 2017
Great building with amazing views, lots of amenities and perfect location. Close to everything!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Best feature is the location

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mary Pinelli Jun 24, 2017
I own a north facing unit on the 6th floor in this building. The unobstructed views of the CN Tower & Queen West are incredible! If you're looking for a young, fun vibe this is the right building and the value is great when you compare prices with Liberty Village just across the street. Smart investment given all the future development planned. The best feature is the location. Walk across King St. into Liberty Village or walk to Queen West. Streetcar right at your doorstep.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Location is phenomenal

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jun 19, 2017
The location of this building is phenomenal. This building is not right in front of the highway and has the most incredible unobstructed panoramic lake views, downtown views, CN tower and all of its surrounding buildings. It's right across from a HUGE soccer field and right at Liberty Village. I've never been happier to get out of the downtown core, I can finally sleep at night. The streets are quiet, and I'm 5 minutes drive from the core. 24-hour Goodlife gym is around the corner, aroma, starbucks, 24-hour metro grocery store, etc. In the beginning, this building had bumps in the road, but since switching management companies and having a pretty awesome Condo Board, the building has improved tenfold. If you get lucky finding a good unit with good views, it's well worth it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

good building for this price

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous May 24, 2017
The building did definitely have some growing pains in the first year of being occupied, but since the amenities have opened and security is in place it's become a very nice place to live. I use the (small but functional) gym and pool regularly. I find the building very quiet, I can never even hear my neighbours except on the balcony. The layout of our unit is very open and good use of the square footage. I think this is a great building for the price point.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Location is great

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous May 16, 2017
I have been living here since 2011 and love the area the location of the building is great. Close to TTC, the exhibition GO station the TFC stadium, liberty village, king and queen west the list goes on... The building has a great pool and gym and is full of young professionals. Lots of dog owners in the neighborhood, which means my dog has lots of friends to play with
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Amazing Changes...

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Apr 10, 2017
This building has gone through some amazing changes, especially in the past 2 years when Property management was changed from first service to goldview. They were able to keep condo fees down as it hasn't really changed since the beginning (5 years ago) which in itself is quite remarkable. And the new hallway reno is finally giving this building it's final touches. Problems, if any, are addressed quickly by the incredibly efficient property manager and in the last year, the turnover from renters to owners living here has actually changed the vibe here - it truly feels like a community now!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

It's great value

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Maria Judas Feb 15, 2017
I have lived in this building since the beginning. I was one of the first residents. I own two units -live in one and rent out the owner. This building is like an other; it has had its challenges, but it's getting progressively better, there have been many great improvements and many more that will follow. We have a great property management company and Board of Directors and many great residents. It's in a great location, walking distance to all amenities and TTC. It's great value.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

good building, great location

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 12, 2017
The best thing about this building is location. It is a short TTC ride to the core of downtown and on weekends there is no need to leave the area - it's a community within itself. Shopping, restaurants, bars etc. On my floor...the building seems pretty quiet. Sure there are young people here, no doubt and weekends are lively but it is a young and hip area. What do people expect? I think this is a good building and great location.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Love this building!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 08, 2017
Convenient location. Nice view! Love this building!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Really happy we got in

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Feb 05, 2017
We have been living here for a year now with our 4-year-old, and we have had a really great experience. Any problems that have come up are no different than any other condo we have lived in or visited, and the neighbourhood gets better and better every month. Having a park right below the building (Rita Cox Park) is great with a little one, and this is the first place I have lived where the people with dogs and the people with kids actually really get along at the park! The new property management and the 24 concierge has transformed this place into a real community, and the BOD is really working hard to catch up to shortfalls from the developer and it is really paying off. When the construction is done on the development beside us, this is going to be the best little street in the area, quiet and low car traffic, but vibrant and fun to walk and bike around. Really happy we got in when we did!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

the only good thing - location

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 27, 2017
The amazing location is really the only thing this building has going for it. The majority of tenants seem to be renters who are either students, which is fine, except they have no respect for their surroundings and because of this the building itself is a bit of a wasteland - people allow their dogs to use the hallways as a bathroom so they look disgusting, the elevators are constantly being (minorly) vandalized, and I'd say at least one of the 4 elevators is out of service for days at a time. Noise complaints I don't get - its a young, fun, neighbourhood and I have no problem with the noise on the weekends, I'm sure I contribute to it at times. The pool is okay, but the outdoor area for it is about 50 sqft, and is directly beside where the garbage is put out - laying out there in the summer is not an option because of the stench of the garbage. The gym is tiny for a building this size, and the temperature can't be changed by anyone but maintenance, so it's pretty much a sauna at all times . My unit is a great layout, but the majority of the other units that I've been in have the weirdest, most inefficient layouts that I've ever seen. I've been here a year and am planning on getting the heck out pretty damn soon.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rumours

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 18, 2017
Great place to live, super clean and amazing staff. The rest of what you read are rumours. There are no bed bugs here. For the most part its super quiet with a variety of people living here. From young to old, to parents and dog owners. Everyone is super friendly and respectful. The finishes are fine on the interior of the units. It's a really well maintained place to live. It's rare to have any issues (loud parties) and if you do you can call up security and they handle it really fast. Management is amazing and work to keep this place in tip top shape. I look forward to coming home, great views, great location. I hope that people will see past the crappy posts and actually come see it for themselves!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

absolutely horrendous

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gillian Weinberg Jan 06, 2017
I was one of the first tenants to begin occupancy at Bridge. The building is absolutely horrendous. I lived there for one year, and NONE of the amenities were open. Once the gym was opened, it was like a sauna. It's small, cramped, and filled with juice heads who think they're in the Jersey Shore. There are parties there CONSTANTLY. Seriously, walk by the building on a Friday night and listen to the screaming and loud music filling the street.

The building is full of renters, and the residents association was at a total loss with what to do before the building registered. Since it's registered, it's a bit better. I rented a unit there from a friend who purchased pre-construction. She now lives in the same unit, and is very upset with the facilities, the property management, but mostly, jackass neighbours.

This building had bedbugs before it was a year old! 38 Joe Shuster even spawned it's own twitter account to follow the crap that goes on. Low-quality amenities, no concierge, filled with renters that really do not give a damn about the space, and elevators that break down on a weekly basis.

I understand why people are trying to give this building good reviews because the market has flooded with units once the building was registered. My friend has a unique corner unit that is absolutely beautiful but cannot sell because Bridge Condos has a heinous but well-deserved reputation. It really is like living in a ghetto.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Interested to get a unit in this condo?
Bridge CondoToronto Condo
24 reviews
5 Darkstar
(8)
4 Darkstar
(11)
3 Darkstar
(1)
2 Darkstar
(2)
1 Darkstar
(2)
Most helpfull reviews
Got condo?
Don't forget about insurance!
Towers
Find out more about Condo insurance : rates, limits, and more.
Get a quote for Condo Insurance Toronto at InsurEye to see how much you can save today