Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

NXT Condos, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(25 reviews)
Condo address: 103-105 The Queensway, Toronto, ON, M6S 5B3
(3.3 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

One issue after the next!

 
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
by Mendoza Feb 13, 2019
I lived here for a few years and I honestly don’t even know where to begin with the amount of issues I dealt with! When I moved in the first thing I noticed immediately was the complete lack of sound proofing. GO trains barrelling by 24 hrs a day, echoing between the 2 condo towers and making the single pane windows & doors seem like they’re not even there. Dogs barking on the opposite end of your floor sound like they’re right next door. Interior non load bearing walls are little more than cardboard. This leads into the issue of absolute minimum material & build quality you could possibly expect in a new building. When I moved in the plumbing was a disaster. The shower rumbled and groaned like an earthquake and took numerous months & intrusive repair attempts to fix. This didn’t stop 3 separate flooding events in my suite. One from the kitchen sink pipes which also failed. All of which required intrusive multi day repairs with loud fans to dry the flooding. Fridge & dishwasher both broke & needed repairs. Kitchen ceiling cracked and track lighting fell out dangling from the chords. Fake wood floors scratch with the slightest scrape. Completely useless sliding interior doors that don’t block light or sound. All interior materials are very cheap and low quality. Wind currents in the building cause constant elevator shut downs, as well as lock downs of the various side door lobby entrances. Power outages were also a regular occurance during storms and high winds. False fire alarms were completely out of control. One week they happened every day, multiple at 3-4am. And when the false alarms aren’t happening, they’re testing the alarms and making loud intrusive announcements over the loud speakers into your suite, one of which was directly above my bed. Soon after I moved in there was a violent stabbing down the hall from me which I actually witnessed the victims smearing blood on the walls. A few months after that a near fatal shooting a few floors above me. Security is absolutely useless. They cause more issues than solutions, basically policing tenants about noise complaints and various other petty violations, while being completely powerless to help in any serious situation. Management is also incompetent. Any issues you bring to them they typically ignore or say it’s not their responsibility. I could literally go on and on about endless issues, but the moral of the story is find a different condo. Surprisingly I was somehow still able to enjoy my time here, so I’ll wrap it up on a positive note. The ammenities are quite nice when they are not damaged and/or out of order, and I will miss my view of the lake. The end.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Serious issue

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Mar 13, 2018
First of all, repairs to a new condo for ALL the balcony glass to be replaced, (which means no outdoor pool use, an amenity you are paying for),and elevators that are a constant issue is not just simple "condo living" and neither are the legitimate concerns others have shared already. In the year that we have been here there have been over 40, yes 40! notices to enter our suite for deficiencies and half the work is/was still not completed. There is a serious issue with the air pressure running throughout the building. Whenever anyone that faces the lake opens their balcony doors, (often), the amount of wind whistling/howling through their front door is incredible. If they leave it open all day it sounds like you have a boiling tea kettle right outside your front door for hours on end. The carpets were soaked with dog pee and feces, the builder did nothing to curb this problem by covering the carpets with plastic until we had working management to clean the mess and stink. The 105 building has some of the worst workmanship I've ever witnessed in all my years in the trades. Cracks all over the ceiling, Track lighting in the kitchen just came undone and dangled one evening. Cracks on drywall seams. and corner beads everywhere. Walls completely out of plum and corners not square. Caulking a mess or incomplete. Tiles not leveled and form pie shaped pieces against the corners and ceiling. Walls that bend around electrical conduits, light switches completely crooked. Flooring buckling, "repaired" cabinets that fall apart soon after. Screws missing on door hinges that result in doors leaning and not closing. Baseboards are crooked and not finished properly. Paint job is a mess with dripping globs or paint skin in it or bubbling. Strokes seen everywhere. Marijuana odors abound. Noise pollution bleeds into the unit all too easy. Constant problems with the heat and air conditioning when seasons change. Freezing cold permeating from the glass doors in the winter. For a building that uses the word "luxary" to describe itself, they miss the mark by a long shot. The builder/quality control is absolute garbage and I feel sorry for anyone that actually owns a unit and thinks that this place even comes close to acceptable. I also feel sorry for management, they try to make a shitty situation better but they have a limited amount of tools they can use to repair this sinking ship.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Condo living next to High Park

 
(4.6 out of 5 stars)
by Jeremy Mar 04, 2018
I have been living here for 1.5 years already. Fabulous location - a few minutes walk away from the lakeshore and High Park. Units are similar to other condos I lived in in the past. A good choice of facilities including a swimming pool.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

elevators are working now

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Dec 12, 2017
I love this place, glad the elevators are working now. Facilities are awesome, great finishes and pretty good management. Every condo has its problems, especially new ones but eventually they work out. Welcome to the world of living in condos.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

really like it here

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Amanda Corstin Dec 12, 2017
Moved in about 2.5 years ago now with my husband and really like it here. The neighbours on our floor are fantastic. We are both pretty active and use the facilities regularly. Both gyms are great for most workout routines. I wish the indoor pool was slightly bigger but hey, at least we got one. We also make it a part of our daily routine to walk by the lake every night. Close to DT and have all the big box convinces of Etibicoke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Only the views...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NXT Hater UnhappyTennant Dec 10, 2017
Only the views made the time here worthwhile. Elevators never work - it adds 30 mins to commuting time just to get out of building. Had to climb 5 times in one week to 26th floor :((

Goods stored in locker now covered with black mould :(

CO2 alarms in basement always screaming, nothing gets done.

Swimming pool not open during summer.

The building is always under construction/repairs. Shoddy construction job.

Cannot wait to move out. Really fed up with poor management/nonresponsive management.

Water outages/power outages for days on end. Bad bad bad.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

a high-end hotel

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Nov 22, 2017
I've lived in the 105 NXT condo for just over 1 year now and I have to say that I'm extremely happy with the building, the people (mainly young professionals) and the atmosphere. The amenities are fantastic (and always clean) and the buildings' management are always quick to respond to inquiries over email or phone call. I honestly feel like I live in a high-end hotel.

In summary - great building and affordable! I'd recommend that you check it out if you're looking.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Elevator issues

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Darren Stark Sep 26, 2017
Major issues with the elevators and with no access on the ground floor to stairwells make for a very confusing setup. Fitness centre equipment is always broken and we hae yet to have the outdoor pool open. Very nice views that are likly the only positive in this building.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Lake view

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hashem Haji Sep 13, 2017
I was looking for a Condo in Toronto with a lake view and a little away from noisy Downtown w Core and traffic but not far. NXT is one of the best choice you can find in Toronto. Surrounded by parks and the lake ( High Park and Lakeshore park, Humber river park, Old mills park) with great trails for running. There is a bike path which is extended for 20 km to the north beside Humber river which is amazing in summer and fall. NXT has some specific features: 1- Waterfront view, I prefer the west side view, The best view is for corner units in west side of NXT105 XX03 (Unobstructed , front view of the lake, CN tower and downtown, green nature and almost everyday for whole year you have gorgeous sunsets) I was checking realtor.ca for 6 months until now 2 listings came. One sold in day 1 after listing( unit 3503) I am currently talking to the other listing to buy or rent . 2- Easy access to transit (TTC) 3- Near Highway I love this because I can easily reach Costco and Sherway Garden in 10 - 15 min by car 4- 2 Gyms, 2 pools (indoor and outdoor) , VIP Cinema , a tennis court, and a daycare which is rare in Downtown condos altogether for a condo. 5- Great nature in surrounding.(bike path, trails, parks, Lake, beach, Sunnyside Paddling Club, beach volley, Humber bay Butterfly park, 24h Starbucks ,24h Tim, 24h Sobeys) 6-Most of residents are between 25-45 years old professional high income. I ve lived in NXT 105 for almost 2.5 years. I didn't experienced any special issues or unordinary problem more than general issues of all condos. Even I am looking to buy one more unit for my parents. It is obvious that nowhere is perfect. If you are looking for investment here, there might be a risk (partial blocking view) for 103 east units If Sheraton hotel gets permission to build a 63 floors tower in the vacant lot in the east side. But for now we did our best and it is suspended. The west side entrance of 105 is too windy. But this is the price that we have to pay for an obstructed view. Parking rent in NXT is expensive and I m paying 160$/month for my second car. A good news is there is high probability of a new GO station near NXT. The last word: the management team are great people highly cooperative and fast responsive.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rude staff!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 12, 2017
I lived here for over a year. What can I say?  I never met or knew the name of any property manager or management company. My only contact ever provided was "concierge"/security, who were a group of some of the rudest people I have ever met. Guest/Visitor Parking was never available, and if it was the City gave you a ticket DESPITE having a parking pass provided by concierge. The amenities were a joke.  You had to sign in to visit the pool, and if you had more than 1 guest with you it wasn't allowed. On the contrary, the pool was amazing but often overcrowded. No music was allowed and there was no BBQ area available on site.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

don't have any real complaints

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Marie genaro Aug 14, 2017
Renting for 7 or so months now in 103 and don't have any real complaints. From what I can tell, the building is maintained well and the residents seem nice.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

a major problem with the HVAC

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 22, 2017
Pot smoke in the hallways, elevators that often don't work, a party room that still isn't open and no lobby furniture to boot. Pipes bursting and flooding the lobby and media room. They have a major problem with the HVAC design so there is a stack effect that is causing the elevators to not work properly (Although building management is trying to blame this on residents saying it's due to doors left open...BS... its poor building, and HVAC design). There is a lot missing from this building. For the money, I'd check out other condos. Oh ya and add to the list no air con for 4 months and no answer on when it will be fixed from mgmt.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

great amenities

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Attila T Jul 20, 2017
Two gyms, four saunas, outdoor and indoor pool and tennis court - the facilities are fantastic and very well maintained. Can't ask for better suite design and the finishes, in the unit I'm renting in at least are great.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst management ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 14, 2017
Yes!!! Unfortunately, all the negative reviews are true!!! :((( elevators problems, safety problems, dog poop, and pee everywhere you looking and around the building!!! Worst management ever!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Really cool site

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jesse Mcfir Jul 11, 2017
Really cool site! The pool on the weekends here is amazing. Great crowd of young professionals and I have met some really nice neighbours. What surprises me most about the building is great the facilities are. People are always using the tennis court and gyms...nice active vibe. We just got new wallpaper in the halls for 103 and it looks great. Elevators have been working without issue for months now and Mark that heads up the property management is great. Love living here.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Get a grip on reality.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 10, 2017
Oh, let me guess...you also think the giant cracks that run across the lobby entrance ceilings are actually a new Fendi art piece and not a sign of shit workmanship, which coincidentally was also the whole point of the last post and how it pertains to these buildings. Hey everyone, Trump Tower also had falling balcony glass so that makes everything very normal. Seriously? That's your defense for the work quality? Get a grip on reality.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good condo, bad mgmt team

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jun 19, 2017
I think its time for an updated review....I am an owner in 105 building since the beginning of 2014. I know nothing of 103 and its issues with elevators, etc.

Positives: Great view (west side of 105) no condo behind! Great Amenities that are clean!- indoor and outdoor pool, 4 saunas, tennis courts, great party room, 2 gyms, theatre, 3 min walk to the lake shore, near dog-park, fast elevators (only had to climb stairs once in a year. Security staff are great/friendly to those of us who live here! And cleaning Stuff are friendly, and always doing their work! Pet-friendly, dog poop bag dispenser outside. Condos are pretty well insulated, I do not hear neighbours other than beside the front door! (Compared to condos on Dupont and Lansdowne, I've heard horrible experiences). Easy access to HWY!

Negatives: Only in the summer of 2014 was the party room and lobby furnished. And rather expensive to rent the party room. Need a car to get around, far from grocery stores by walking. The gym is limited with equipment, Management barely remembers anything you may ask! Screens in elevators with updates are always either broken, lag, or cracked...there goes maintenance money..which leads me to believe visitors are the ones breaking these screens. Also on these screens are notifications about the condo, written by management which are usually unpleasantly written, and accusing owners/tenants of the issues!! Take some blame on yourselves for poor management!

All in all, the age group, of course, is what you usually would find in any condo.. some older, but many are young professionals, young couples, very few families with children, etc

I love my condo, its location and amenities, however I may plan to leave in the next year and this would be due to poor management team... I have no idea what they do all day in their office, and god forbid you to decide you need to speak with them, they will be displeased to help you! Good luck!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great neighbours

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Pina Florets Jun 18, 2017
I purchased in 103 last year and definitely don't regret it. Great neighbours, clean building and fantastic facilities. I learned how to play tennis this year in the outdoor court!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good but noisy/isolated

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by Graham Rowlands Jun 12, 2017
I think this is a really great building. Nicely designed, great amenities and decent layouts throughout. The biggest problem here is the noise from the Gardiner and its isolated location. The building offers some good value if you are looking for a place close to the city with some nice water views if you can get live with noise and limited services within walking distance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Extremely impressed

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lisa Ward May 30, 2017
First summer here and an extremely impressed. Two minute walk to high park, beach across the street and 501 streetcar at entrance. The new wallpaper in halls looks fabulous. I read some of the comments here and really don't get what people are saying. The one that said the water tastes like gasoline was hilarious - like honestly? Anyway, I rent and love it here. Young professional building. 25th floor in 103 here.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

been here 3 yrs.

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Apr 02, 2017
i have lived at 103 for about 3 years and may have lived through some of its worst.

While the amenities are nice, I would advise anyone thinking of buying a condo in Toronto to avoid buildings that are predominantly glass exterior. Builders are no longer allowed to do this for good reason!

The amount of noise we hear from the highway makes us wonder if the windows/patio doors were ever installed properly. In the past few years, the sound has gotten much louder and our curtains move with the wind when the doors are closed.

There are a few other small issues I have but I believe every condo has problems and many builders have made mistakes along the way (i.e. cheap engineered hardwood floors). I'm just thankful I'm a renter and can leave anytime.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor management!

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Mar 23, 2017
Constantly issues with elevators not working due to stack effect. Lobby floods due to burst pipes. Party room has not opened 2yrs in and no date from management. I feel this building is plagued by poor design and poor management. Definitely avoid renting here and don't even think about buying a unit!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

no smell..

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Melissa Levi Feb 06, 2017
Definitely surprised by the negative comment here. I purchased a few months ago in 103 and haven't really experienced any of issues listed here. The building is always really clean, great quiet neighbours, I'm outside on my patio almost everyday (summer now) and don't smell any pot. Anyway, I really like it here...thanks for making my first purchase so simple! I actually used this site before I purchased as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Many issues in NXT condos

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 08, 2017
There are many issues in NXT condos. First of all, the ads boast furnishings by Fendi Casa, but the ENTIRE lobby is empty. It feels like they are still in the pre-construction phase. There are signs prompting us to make sure doors are closed properly, as it interferes with the elevators, or there is a risk of the glass breaking in the wind, which to me, is indicative of bad planning, or poor design. The elevators are SLOW. Even at 1 pm on a Monday they are slow. The gym is tiny with spacious change rooms, and there is no water fountain or water cooler in the gym. There are some nice amenities, like the indoor pool and the solarium, but there are too many glitches for me to give NXT any more than 2 stars.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor management team

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 08, 2017
I think its time for an updated review...I am an owner in 105 building since beginning of 2014. Positives: Great view (west side of 105) no condo behind! Great Amenities that are clean!- indoor and outdoor pool, 4 saunas, tennis courts, great party room, 2 gyms, theater, 3 min walk to lake shore, near dog-park, fast elevators (only had to climb stairs once in a year. Security staff are great/friendly to those of us who live here! And cleaning Stuff are friendly, and always doing their work! Pet-friendly, dog poop bag dispenser outside. Condos are pretty well insulated, I do not hear neighbours other than beside the front door! Easy access to HWY! Negatives: Need a car to get around, far from grocery stores by walking. Gym is limited with equipment, Management barely remembers anything you may ask! Screens in elevators with updates are always either broken, lag, or cracked...there goes maintenance money..which leads me to believe visitors are the ones breaking these screens. Also on these screens are notifications about the condo, written by management which are usually unpleasantly written, and accusing owners/tenants of the issues!! All in all, the age group, of course, is what you usually would find in any condo.. some older, but many are young professionals, young couples, very few families with children, etc I love my condo, its location, and amenities, however, I may plan to leave in the next year and this would be due to poor management team..I have no idea what they do all day in their office.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Interested to get a unit in this condo?
NXT CondosToronto Condo
25 reviews
5 Darkstar
(10)
4 Darkstar
(3)
3 Darkstar
(1)
2 Darkstar
(7)
1 Darkstar
(4)
Most helpfull reviews
Got condo?
Don't forget about insurance!
Towers
Find out more about Condo insurance : rates, limits, and more.
Get a quote for Condo Insurance Toronto at InsurEye to see how much you can save today