Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Heintzman Place Condos, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(15 reviews)
Condo address: 60-61 Heintzman St, Toronto, ON, M6P 5A1
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Simple condo living

 
(3.3 out of 5 stars)
by Andy Feb 18, 2018
The condominium is several years old already and does not offer a few perks modern condos typically have, such as a swimming pool. At the same time the neighbourhood is up and rising and condominium’s community is very nice – a definitive reason to name this place your home. The building is surrounded by a mix of older housing, industrial areas / warehouses and railroad tracks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I regret not snatching..

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Nov 26, 2017
I looked at this building preconstruction and boy oh boy do I regret not snatching one up then. I recently viewed another suite ~800 sq.ft., similar design only on a lower floor, south facing and I am guessing it must have gone up $100K+. I love that the maintenance fee is low and will hopefully stay low. The bonus is that the subway is walkable. The residents appear friendly and in spite of the price having skyrocketed, it is still affordable for a startup family. My only dislike is the gym...it's not as equipped as I'd like. I don't like having to pay for a gym membership when there's already one in the building. Decision, decision...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I love it here

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joel Citulski Oct 22, 2017
Much like a couple of the previous posters, I'm an original purchaser in this complex, and grew up in the area. I owned a condo previous to this one, and currently, own a second closer to downtown, and will proudly say without reservation that I love this building and neighbourhood. I find Heintzman Place to be far more community-centered than most buildings, and the layout, construction, and amenities are as good, or better than your typical newly-built Toronto development. I would very much challenge the credibility of some of the earlier negative comments...what aspect(s) of the building disrespects pedestrians? I own a car, but bike frequently, and walk around the neighbourhood on a daily basis - and have no idea what your comment refers to. I'm also sorry for those who don't wish to bring up "THEIR" children in the area - sorry that a vibrant-yet-historically-rooted neighbourhood isn't to your liking. Few areas have the liveliness of the Junction, proximity to the centre of the city (via a bike trail, no less) and quick access to Toronto's largest park. I love it here, and am thrilled with my home.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Original owner

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kirsten Dean Oct 16, 2017
I am an original owner and love this building and community. No swimming pool or guest suite, but also no ridiculous sky high condo fees. A diverse community of residents who care about their building, neighbourhood and city. SItuated within a vibrant area, The Junction has much to offer for foodies, history junkies, and those who appreciate up and coming artists. Heintzman offers a great place to live.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

This one is just not for me.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Sep 18, 2017
This building just isn't for me. If you look at the surrounding area north it is not somewhere that I would like to bring up MY children. Keele puts me off as well. A very busy road and I would rather spend my dollars on a less busy road. Keele/Dundas intersection is a death trap and there have been too many pedestrian accidents.

The building itself looks good on the surface but with so many internal problems there, I wouldn't want to be a part of that. Random 'pot' inspections in units for me is a BIG issue, total invasion of privacy. They may dress it up as something else but that is what it is. Then you have the north facing window issue and you are unable to open your windows.

If you are renting/buying REALLY look into the building and surrounding and ask yourself if you want to live there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

We love it

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Aug 12, 2017
I moved into 61 Heintzman with two kids in 2010 and we love it. I didn't want to pay for a pool or other amenities that have the potential to need a lot of maintenance. We've used the party room and the gym lots. There is enough visitor parking, people play with their kids outside and the security/concierge folks are very helpful. I know my neighbours enough to be friendly and feel safe. (My mum and another family member live in other units in 60.) The area has cleaned up a lot, although it's not a good place if you don't like plaid clad hipsters drinking craft beer. My actual unit (900 sq feet, two bathrooms) has simple design and great layout so we could do a lot with decorating. I love the trains and my views -from four windows- are composed of industrial silos, green space, and the CN tower in the distance. Have seen coyotes on the tracks. If you want all the frills, this isn't the building for you. If you want a vertical neighbourhood in an interesting and upcoming area, it might be.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

an amazing neighbourhood

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jacquilynne Schlesier Jul 04, 2017
The Junction is an amazing neighbourhood, Heintzman Place reflects all its best qualities. Unlike so man buildings that are marketed to a single segment of the population, Heintzman is filled with all kinds of people from young singles and couples to established families to empty nesters. In several cases there are multiple generations of the same family all living in the building. There were strong incentives for the original purchasers to occupy their units, so it is largely an owner occupied community, with the great sense of pride and care for the building that brings with it. I'm very happy to be living in such a vibrant, open community.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Renting

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Saadat Qadri Jun 25, 2017
I'm currently renting a unit in this condo - and apart from recurring issues with the elevators, I've loved living at Heintzman Place. My unit is cosy, with an open layout, and has an awesome view of the Toronto skyline. The location really sealed the deal for me - proximity to High Park, cafes in the Junction (specifically The Good Neighbour), bike trails, and highway 400. In addition, it only takes me 30 mins to get to the downtown core by the TTC.

Have to say that I wish I'd bought a unit in this building earlier. Waiting for a south facing 2 bedroom to open up soon.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Heart of the Junction

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jun 19, 2017
Heintzman Place is a newer condo complex and conveniently located in the heart of the Junction. The neighbourhood is marvelous -- lots of restaurants and interesting shops.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

a great building

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous May 22, 2017
This is a great building, it's not cheap or boring as some of the other reviewers/spectators have said. The building actually reflects the industrial history in the Junction with the red brick and black mullions for the windows. As most of the industrial buildings along the rail corridor, which were most likely built with bricks from the Brickworks on the Don River. Maintenance fee's are low, the developer of the building is a non-profit and specifically develops builds to be affordable. The building is family oriented and many of the residents are proactive in the neighbourhood and care about what happens in the Junction it has become a community onto-itself. It's a great place to live and work, and one of the greater walking neighbourhoods in Toronto.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

get what you pay for

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brook Wilson Mar 26, 2017
The building feels cheap to me. But I guess that's how you swing a 2 bedroom + den for $350,000 (just noticed a listing on MLS). You get what you pay for.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

LOVE where we live

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Mar 22, 2017
My Wife and I live in 61 Heintzman and LOVE where we live! So much so, we got married in the party room! We are always trying to pitch our friends to move in whenever a hot new listing pops up in our community! Having both lived in the east end of the city most of our lives, we missed out on the opportunity to buy from the builder (unsure of the area). So for anyone commenting on the neighbourhood, I hear you and I respect what you're saying but please for the love of god take a walk along Dundas one Saturday and see just how GREAT our neighbourhood is! These condos have helped The Junction literally hit EXPRESS on the gentrification button, the Dundas street strip now gives Bloor St W a run for their money! With so many young families and independent business starting up, it's been amazing growing alongside this community, The Junction!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

love this building!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Herbivore Feb 07, 2017
I am an original owner and love this building and community. No swimming pool or guest suite, but also no ridiculous sky-high condo fees. A diverse community of residents who care about their building, neighbourhood and city. Situated within a vibrant area, The Junction has much to offer for foodies, history junkies, and those who appreciate up and coming artists. Heintzman offers a great place to live.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

a great place to live

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ashley D Jan 31, 2017
As an owner and resident, I can attest that Heintzman Place is a great place to live. The layout of my suite is functional and makes maximum use of space, and I've yet to experience an issue with any of the workmanship or materials used. I love the simple but useful amenities because it means I'm not paying for features I don't use anyways. The residents of the building are friendly and engaged. Thus far, the Board has proven itself to be fiscally responsible while still generally responsive to resident concerns and requests. Are the units affordable? Yes, that is the whole point of the development given that it is an Options for Homes community. Knowing that by purchasing a unit in this development, I would be enabling future affordable housing developments is what initially attracted me to Heintzman Place. I had never even entertained buying a condo prior to hearing about Options (I was set on freehold), but once I learned about the model, I couldn't help but support it. Aside from the development itself, one of the greatest things about Heintzman Place is the neighbourhood. I'd rented in many areas of Toronto, including the Junction, and decided to purchase here because I could not imagine living in any other neighbourhood. I love the small town within a big city feeling of the Junction, knowing that everything I need is within walking distance and that it is still so diverse despite its increasing popularity.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Super friendly community

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 25, 2017
Amazing South facing views! The fantastic neighbourhood at your doorstep! Super friendly community/building! Also still reasonable costs and low maintenance fees...and a board committing to keeping it that way. So happy to be living here!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?