Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Boutique 2 Condo, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(7 reviews)
Condo address: 126 Simcoe St, Toronto, ON, M1V 1T8
(4.1 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Great location and layouts

 
(4.3 out of 5 stars)
by diyguy88 Jul 11, 2018
I own two 800+ sqft units in Boutique 2. All my long term renters have commented very positively about living there. My rental rates are not the highest and I ensure the units are in tip-top condition before renting them out. This B2 building has 36+ floors, with each floor have approx only 10 units. For 3 elevators, this is extremely convenient. The building is surprisingly quite despite the younger renters living there. Noise is not an issue. The building enjoys the prestige of being beside the Shangri-La hotel and sharing its landscaping. Annual TIFF and occasional filming will allow you to spot some A-listers. Some rooftop amenities are shared with Boutique 1, but separate exercise, party rooms and 2 guest suites are for B2 residents only. Nightly rates at the guest suties are only $130 /nt. As an owner, there were concerns about the building management and security team, but that has been addressed. The only issue now is keeping the maintenance fees from rising even more. Despite having no full size pool or other extravagant amenities, our maintenance fees are in the top 10% in downtown Toronto. This is a problem for selling the units and I hope they can hold the line on the fees and possibly reduce them when the funds are replenished.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Family suitable condo

 
(3.6 out of 5 stars)
by Janice Feb 13, 2018
I have been living in this condo for over a year now, I have noticed that there are more owners living here than renters; which is great because owners care more for their property. I own a 2+1 unit and I am very happy with the layout as it is very efficient. I love my walk in closet! The building is minutes from the subway station; entertainment district and central to the financial district. The management staff is very helpful and I find the online services very helpful in reaching management. The main reason I purchased here is because of the amenities.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

very happy with my unit

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Oct 25, 2017
I agree with the anonymous renter comment. I am very happy with my layout and the location of the building and the view in the south. When I was purchasing it for my family in 2010-2011 my unit was among the top layouts I found. I was also looking for a chance of investment last year and reviewed 5-6 other new condos in its walking distance. That time again I found my layout being exceptionally good.

This building is just a minute from several Theaters and entertaining district and right in the heart of financial district. 2-3 minutes from two subway stations. The property management service is considerably improved over the last few months with an online service for the owners. However, the building still struggles with assigning a bike room space. Currently, residents should keep their bikes in their lockers to be safe.

So far definitely I suggest this building for renters but I am not sure for the short-term investments. In the last 5 years, the price of my unit almost has not changed and I found it now to be between 10-15% lower than the comparable units in downtown. This is how I estimate this number. For example last month a very similar unit but in a 4 years newer building but not a luxury condo , close to Chinatown (less premium location), and close to street with a bad view (20 floor lower than mine) was sold for 730 k almost ~22% higher than a similar unit to mine 7 months ago. I consider 5-10% for the 4 years difference in age. So if the growth continues the same way it will not be the best investment but perfect to buy for living. In future, I hope the gap starts to tighten which ultimately should happen.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Perfectly located

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Oct 17, 2017
126 Simcoe is perfectly located just outside of the Financial District. It is steps away from either Osgoode or St. Andrew Station, making it very easy to get around the city. With the awesome location comes some difficulty in getting visitors parking - but it is free so worth it to try! With the Rabba opened in the base of the building it is so easy to be comfortable in the space. The newly opened Shangri La is in front of the building, sometimes making you feel you feel as if you are in a very high-end neighbourhood. The units are quite small - but layouts are really good. I'm in a two bedroom two full-bathroom, and the location of the rooms are far enough for you to feel privacy. There aren't many amenities in this building, except for a gym and party room (which you have to pay for). The sister building, 21 Nelson, has a really nice rooftop building with a 'plunge' pool and tanning area. It gets very busy though, and there isn't a lot of space, so its typically common to have to get to the top of the building early in the day to get a spot. The concierge of the building are not that helpful and sometimes are away from the front for an extended period of time making it difficult for visitors to enter the building. Overall, great building and perfect for young professionals.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

perfect for a single young professional

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ugly Doris Sep 28, 2017
This place is perfect for a single young professional moving out on their own (i.e. age 22 - 27). Close to Financial district, great rooftop patio (though it's in the other building at 21 Nelson), across from Shangri-La so there's always some level of civility maintained. I've been living here for 5 years and could never think of a reason to leave. The visitor parking is free (as it should be) and I'm in a corner unit so it is spacious. Issues that some people will have with it are that the gym is a bit small for to be sharing between 2 buildings and what they call a 'pool' is really just hot tub that nobody uses, but the patio is great. I also care more about square footage than view so that factored into my decision as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

One of the BEST!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Apr 03, 2017
Having been in many condos downtown Toronto I can easily say that this building is one of the best. While the finishes and design are not exciting, the soundproofing and electrical wiring are great. The ceilings are all 9ft and 10ft in selected units. The 1+1 units are a gem of this building with walk in closets and efficient space. The location is excellent. While one expects it to be a party building it is actually quiet and civil right now. The current management is great and helpful and the atmosphere is pleasant. The maintenance fees are a tad higher than average but they include everything (excl hydro), gym, sauna, office space, media room, rooftop patio with a small pool, and movie theatre. The proportion of owners to renters is high and you know owners care more. After visiting buildings in the area such as M5V, The Pinnacle and Cinema Tower I'm happy I made the choice I did. This building seems to have way less problems on a large scale. I would rather invest into finishes I like rather than live in a party condo that has problems with heat pumps, elevators, insulation, and drunk crowds.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Picturesque south views

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alex Moloney Apr 02, 2017
Boutique Condos is actually 2 buildings - 126 SImcoe St & 21 Nelson St. 126 Simcoe is the tower with some picturesque south views on higher floors. Located right next to Shangri-la and just off University Ave Boutique is very popular for buyers and renters who want to be close to the financial core, entertainment and subway.

Life at 126 Simcoe & 21 Nelson comes with a host of all-inclusive, highly coveted amenities. Experience a splash of the extraordinary in the Boutique gym, with a counter current exercise pool, cardio theatre, weight room and yoga studio. Rise up to the Boutique rooftop, your personal oasis for entertaining and relaxing. Outdoor patios beckon with such touches as a plunge pool, private cabanas, chaise lounges, BBQ's and fire pits seating.

The building is well managed and the demographic is mostly young professionals in the 25-45 age range.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Interested in getting your dream condo?
Access to all new listings
Extensive guidance
Insider information
Boutique 2 CondoToronto Condo
7 reviews
5 Darkstar
(1)
4 Darkstar
(6)
3 Star off
(0)
2 Star off
(0)
1 Star off
(0)
Most helpfull reviews