Independent Toronto Condo Reviews

Maple Leaf Square Condos, Toronto Condo Reviews 

(9 reviews)
Condo address: 55-65 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, ON, M5J 0A6
(3.6 out of 5 stars)
Condo building and appearance:
Unit size and floor plan:
Condo amenities:
 

Terrible New Concierge Team

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by MapleLeafSquare Dec 30, 2018
The new concierge team (Pennine Security) that replaced the team that had been here for years is absolutely awful, unhelpful and lacking in even the most basic courtesy. Most of them can hardly speak English and have no idea of what servicing the residents of a “luxury condominium building” actually means. They are very inept, rude, and clueless to the extent that they cannot answer even the most basic of questions or provide the most basic service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not what it used to be...

 
(3.6 out of 5 stars)
by RedEngine Jul 30, 2018
I honestly cannot wait to get out of here. I will start with the elevators that are becoming a nightmare in both towers: There are 4 in each tower. I started keeping record of every instant during which only 2 elevators were in operation in 2015. In just 3 years, we have had 37 outages. I have found management to be quite inexperienced and unqualified to run a property of this size. The rate at which one property manager leaves and is replaced by a successor speaks a lot about what’s happening. The same goes for the security company that was recently switched out to an amateur team whose members barely speak proper English or can communicate effectively. Bulletins on the wall are poorly written and frequently come in the imperative form with warnings and do’s & dont’s that make you feel you are on a campsite. The constant, out-of-control fire alarms that go off in the middle of the night are such a nuisance, but my absolute worst are the startling exhaust screechings that take place every single night with sport bikers racing on the Gardiner Expressway. I actually started loving the winter months where the noise comes to a bare minimum. One major issue residents lost hope in discussing is the air conditioning. These towers are curtain-wall, meaning they are dressed in panoramic glass all throughout. This technology requires a special cooling system to combat heat and control air flow in modern towers. Unfortunately, the current setup is just not sufficient to adequately cool the suites during the summer months and management is forced to set a minimum temperature on behalf of the residents in order to save the compressors. Stack pressure is a major issue in this property where close control of doors and windows are crucial to keeping the elevators from stopping. The average resident is oblivious to this problem and management does little to educate.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Couldn't ask for better!

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by DG May 18, 2018
I really like living at Maple Leaf Square. The management is top notch and you get so much for your maintenance fees - solid concierge, two pools, and everything is always clean. Of course you can't beat the location and the access to the stadiums, office towers, Union station, and the waterfront. Keep in mind that there's a difference between 55 Bremner (South Tower) and 65 Bremner (North Tower). If you're able, living at 55 Bremner is much better. Why? Because 55 Bremner has better elevator service, meaning that you get direct elevator access to your unit floor, ground floor, parking levels, and all the amenities. Both towers are good, but 55 Bremner is definitely better. Compared to other buildings in the area, the quality and class here is top-notch. Not to be rude, but the Ice buildings across the street feel like college dorms. Maple Leaf Square actually feels like a flagship condo in the heart of Toronto. My unit is excellently spaced, with two bedrooms, split on either side of the suite. The master has a walk-in closet! And there are 2 bathrooms, each with a shower (and one has a separate tub). More than 180 degree views means I get the Lake, CN Tower, and unobstructed views of downtown.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

2 swimming pools!

 
(3.6 out of 5 stars)
by Prem. J. Feb 26, 2018
Marvelous condo complex! Great location for young couples and singles. Minutes to the Financial district with direct access to Union station through underground Path system. The only thing I don't like about this condo is that all one bedroom units don't have any windows so its very dark and closed in feeling bedroom. Longo's Grocery, LCBO, Bank, Sports Bar & E11Even restaurant down stairs in the building at street level. The amenities include 24Hr Concierge, Fitness center, Media, Party and Theater rooms, Indoor/Outdoor heated pools, Sauna & sun tanning area.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I lived here for 2 years.

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lisa DeLenardo Sep 24, 2017
I lived in this building for 2 years. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed several aspects, while the drawbacks really started to irritate me (likely due in part to the Leafs being in the playoff's LOL). I will start with the good. The amenities are great in this building. The outdoor pool is fantastic and the gym is fairly well equipped. Having the LCBO and Longos in your basement were pretty unbelievable perks, albeit tough on the liver. The units are well built and the finishes aren't slap job cheap like many of the other large developments. The concierge is very helpful and friendly. They accept packages and will help if you ever have an issue. I dropped my phone down the elevator bank and they retrieved it for me that night. On the downside, the elevators seem to consistently have issues. There are only 4 in a building of 55 stories, which seems odd to me, with one inevitably on service. You need to take an elevator to the 9th floor lobby, then switch to the residential elevator because Le Germaine occupies floors 1-8. This really grates on your nerves after a few months. There is NO visitor parking, which means that anyone who wants to come by has to pay about $20 each time. This does not seem reasonable to me. AND the people who work in the parking garage are unbelievably rude. If you want to use the pool, you need to get a wrist band every time and they will buzz you in....this is a hassle. In short, the building is a very convenient place to live if you work in the financial core; however, if you don't I would not recommend living here unless you absolutely love to be in the middle of the action and don't mind the many inconveniences that come with that.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

an incredible mixed-use complex

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brook Wilson Sep 12, 2017
Maple Leaf Square is an incredible mixed-use complex, but it's not for everyone. Located in the emerging SouthCore neighbourhood, you'll feel like you're in the centre of it all. You've got the ACC besides you and the complex houses a Hotel St-Germain (great boutique hotel), a Longo's grocery store, an LCBO, bank, Real Sports Bar & Grill and a bunch of other amenities. You basically have a mini-mall at the bottom of your building. So be prepared for crowds. You'll also be overrun by sports fans on occasion since Maple Leaf Square is really designed as a public space for that kind of stuff. In terms of the condo residences themselves, the buildings are well designed by renowned local architecture firm KPMB. The suites are well appointed and I don't really have any complaints there. There's also a popular pool on top of the podium that I'm told is quite the scene during the summer months. My biggest complaint about the building is the sky-lobby. This means that when you're coming home (or you have people visiting you), you'll have to switch elevators midway through the building. This can get old really fast and you should think long and hard about this setup. It's a possible deal breaker for me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Direct access to PATH

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richard Yip Sep 12, 2017
Direct access to PATH. Grocery shopping, LCBO, etc with ease. No umbrella in rainy days. Shorts & T in snows days. Pros & Cons with ACC events. Best for rental market as well.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

About a year...

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jul 18, 2017
I lived in the building for about a year. It's a decent building with good amenities and parking issues as mentioned by a previous post. But the building is getting older and there was a massive flood in the South tower (55 Bremner) last month due to a water pipe break on a high floor near the elevators causing a large amount of water to go down into the elevators and stairs. It flooded many floors and units. Restoration will be a large task due to extent of the damage. All of the elevators were soaked and they still haven't fixed them fully yet. But at least some of them are running unlike before. It was really inconvenient in the morning to go to work or return back, especially when you live on the higher floors.

I wouldn't say the units and finishes were well built. I have lived at Cityplace (matrix), and I felt it was better built and done with more care.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Convenient location

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by A F Apr 03, 2017
- Convenient location - Direct access to Union Station - Close to ACC - Longo's and LCBO downstairs
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Interested to get a unit in this condo?
Maple Leaf Square CondosToronto Condo
9 reviews
5 Darkstar
(2)
4 Darkstar
(4)
3 Darkstar
(1)
2 Darkstar
(2)
1 Star off
(0)
Most helpfull reviews
Got condo?
Don't forget about insurance!
Towers
Find out more about Condo insurance : rates, limits, and more.
Get a quote for Condo Insurance Toronto at InsurEye to see how much you can save today